Athletic Receive Gianni Brera Award As One Of Four Clubs To Have Never Been Relegated

José Ángel Iribar receives the Gianni Brera Award on behalf of Athletic Club (AC)

Athletic Club was formed in 1898 when Basque students returned from studying in England and brought with them a newfound love for football. The team would eventually merge with Bilbao Football Club, founded by British workers who had relocated to the area, in 1903 and enjoyed immense success early on. By the time La Liga began in 1929 Athletic were one of the strongest clubs in Spain and were included as one of the original 10 members.

La Liga has grown immensely over the decades with lower level divisions being added along the way. Many clubs have risen and fallen but Athletic remain one of only three clubs in Spain to have never been relegated.

On Tuesday, Athletic were honored in Italy with the Premio Gianni Brera award for having never been relegated from the first division. Club legend José Ángel Iribar was in attendance to receive the award along with representatives from Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Inter Milan who were also recognized for the same incredible achievement.

Leave A Comment