Deportivo 2-2* Athletic Club




Athletic Club’s men’s and women’s team won the Trofeo Teresa Herrera (AC)

The international break may be in full swing but that hasn’t kept Athletic from playing football. On Wednesday the Lions traveled to A Coruña where their women’s and men’s team faced off with Deportivo for the Trofeo Teresa Herrera. It was the perfect opportunity for several players to enjoy minutes and gave manager Eduardo Berizzo the chance to test some different things.

Iago Herrerín started in goal with a defensive line in front of him comprised of Ander Capa, Ander Iturraspe, Peru Nolaskoain, and Mikel Balenziaga. Dani García, Mikel Rico, and Unai López formed the midfield trio with Iñigo Córdoba and Gorka Guruzeta on the wings. Raúl García featured as the striker leading the attack. The Lions were looking to score early and wouldn’t have to wait too long.

Rico was able to set up Córdoba who opened the scoring in just the tenth minute with a finish at the far post. Deportivo would respond seven minutes later when Santos leveled the score at 1-1. After half an hour Rico would be forced to leave the pitch after suffering a left ankle injury. He was taken off out of precaution with Markel Susaeta taking his place and Raúl García moving back into the midfield.

With the score level at the break Berizzo made several changes. Aritz Aduriz, Cristian Ganea, Mikel San José, and Beñat all entered the game and made an immediate impact. In the 50th minute Aduriz scored a wonderful goal to give Athletic the 2-1 lead and at that point is appeared as though they were going to secure the victory. Iñaki Williams, Yuri Berchiche, and Iñigo Lekue would also come into the game later in the second half. However, Saúl Garcia had other plans as he scored in the 86th minute to pull level at 2-2 which stood through regulation. The game would go to penalties.

Iñaki Williams, Aduriz, San José, and Iturraspe were all successful from the spot while Herrerín made one save and Deportivo were only able to score one penalty. Athletic won 4-1 in the shootout to take home the Teresa Herrera Trophy. The Women’s team also won their game 1-0 which means that for the first time in history the Teresa Herrera Trophy was won by teams from the same club.



Date Time League Season
November 14, 2018 8:45 pm Friendly 2018/2019


Estadio Riazor


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoals
RC Deportivo112
Athletic Club112*