Athletic Club Presidential Candidates Working To Finalize Their Board Of Directors


Which Presidential candidate will take control of Ibaigane? (AC)

Now that Alberto Uribe-Echevarría and Aitor Elizegi have officially announced their candidacies for Athletic Club President, they are working to finalize their Board of Directors that will join them. Both are expected to present their teams in the coming days as well as begin sharing their ideas and vision for Athletic. The two candidates are looking to surround themselves with trusted individuals to help them lead the club and they have already made tremendous progress.

Before formally announcing his candidacy, Uribe-Echevarría offered a position to Mario Fernández Jr. according to Juanma Mallo of El CorreoThe son of the former President of Kutxabank was said to be putting together his own team over the past few months but now looks likely to join Uribe-Echevarría. He’s also reached out to Jon Maria Vázquez Eguskiza, an economics lawyer from the University of Deusto.

In addition, several former members of Josu Urrutia’s Board will be following Uribe-Echevarría. Javier Aldazabal and Genar Andrinua are already part of the team while Elaia Gangoitia, Laura Martínez, and Ignacio Palacios-Huerta could all be joining as well after resigning from Athletic’s Management Committee on Thursday. In total Uribe-Echevarría’s group could include between 8 and 10 members of the former Board of Directors.

Aitor Elizegi, on the other hand, is keeping his cards closer to the vest at the moment. So far only three names have come out as people who are expected to be joining his team. Onda Vasca have reported that Jon Ander de las Fuentes, the CFO of Euskatel, and lawyer Fernando San Jose will be members of the Board of Directors, as well we Doctor Mikel Martinez.

Both candidates will continue working on their projects and Boards over the next few days and are likely to present their teams very soon, once things are finalized. In the meantime, they will have until 8 December to collect signatures from at least 5% of voting eligible Socios, roughly 2,000, to formalize their candidacies. Voting will take place on 27 December.

Leave A Comment