Athletic Club Defeat Deportivo In Penalty Shootout To Win The Teresa Herrera Trophy


Athletic Club’s men’s and women’s team won the Trofeo Teresa Herrera (AC)

The international break may be in full swing but that hasn’t kept Athletic from playing football. On Wednesday the Lions traveled to A Coruña where their women’s and men’s team faced off with Deportivo for the Trofeo Teresa Herrera. It was the perfect opportunity for several players to enjoy minutes and gave manager Eduardo Berizzo the chance to test some different things.

Iago Herrerín started in goal with a defensive line in front of him comprised of Ander Capa, Ander Iturraspe, Peru Nolaskoain, and Mikel Balenziaga. Dani García, Mikel Rico, and Unai López formed the midfield trio with Iñigo Córdoba and Gorka Guruzeta on the wings. Raúl García featured as the striker leading the attack. The Lions were looking to score early and wouldn’t have to wait too long.

Córdoba opened up the scoring after just 10 minutes thanks to a beautiful assist from Rico who was able to play a pass across the face of the goal. Deportivo would respond seven minutes later when Santos leveled the score at 1-1. After half an hour Rico would be forced to leave the pitch after suffering a left ankle injury. He was taken off out of precaution with Markel Susaeta taking his place and Raúl García moving back into the midfield. Athletic would create a few more chances in the first half with Raúl García and Unai López both having shots on goal, but they were unable to beat the goalkeeper.

With the score level at the break Berizzo made several changes. Aritz Aduriz, Cristian Ganea, Mikel San José, and Beñat all entered the game and made an immediate impact. Aduriz gave Athletic a 2-1 lead in the 50th minute through a stunning left-footed volley and at that point is appeared as though they were going to secure the victory. Iñaki Williams, Yuri Berchiche, and Iñigo Lekue would also come into the game later in the second half.

Deportivo refused to give up. Herrerín was forced to make two impressive saves and even drew a foul on a corner kick that ended up in the back of the net but was called back. Just when it looked like the game was over Saúl Garcia pulled the hosts level when he scored in 86th minute which sent the game to penalties.

Aduriz, Williams, San José, and Iturraspe were all successful from the spot while Herrerín made one save and Deportivo were only able to score one penalty. Athletic won 4-1 in the shootout to take home the Teresa Herrera Trophy. The Women’s team also won their game 1-0 which means that for the first time in history the Teresa Herrera Trophy was won by teams from the same club.

Leave A Comment