Athletic Club Reveal Coaching Changes Within Lezama


Athletic Club have made some coaching changes at Lezama (Optimus)

Lezama remains Athletic’s biggest priority and the pillar on which the club has been built. The youth academy boasts some of the best facilities in all of Europe and is filled with tremendous coaches who work very hard every single day to help young players grow as footballers and as people. In order to keep Lezama functioning at the highest level there are always changes and improvements and this summer is no different.

On Tuesday night Athletic revealed the organizational chart for the upcoming season which included a few coaching changes. As expected, Gaizka Garitano will continue as the manager of Bilbao Athletic, but CD Basconia will now be coached by Aritz Solabarrieta who was in charge of the Juvenil A team in the previous campaign. He will get to continue training many of the same players with at least nine having been promoted to the feeder club.

With Solabarrieta taking a step up, his place at Juvenil A will be overseen by Andoni Galiano who coached Cadete B last year. Juvenil B will continue under the leadership of Iban Fuentes and Jon Solaun will retain his place at Cadete A. Interestingly, Cadete B will now be managed by Ander Alaña who led Basconia last year. Its clear that Athletic want to keep the same coaches at Lezama and believe that a few adjustments will continue to produce success. The club also revealed the incorporation of a third Infantil team which will be called Athletic Infantil Aliron and will be coached by Iñaki Gonzalez Abadía.

Here is the complete coaching organizational chart for next season:

Bilbao Athletic: Gaizka Garitano / Patxi Ferreira/ Iñigo Lizarralde

Basconia: Aritz Solabarrieta / Iñaki Gonzalez Abadía

Juvenil A: Andoni Galiano / Joxean Alvarez

Juvenil B: Iban Fuentes / Ander Breda

Cadete A: Jon Solaun / Txema Añibarro

Cadete B: Ander Alaña/ Tiko

Infantil A: Jose Luaces

Infantil San Mames: Joxean Alvarez

Infantil Aliron: Txema Añibarro (New Team)

Alevín 07 San Mames: Joseba Bikandi

Alevín 07 Aliron: Iñaki Gonzalez Abadía

Alevín 08 San Mames: Patrik Guerra

Alevín 08 Aliron: Oskar Alkorta

Alevín 08 1898: Ander Breda

Leave A Comment