Nine Bilbao Athletic Players Have Been Added To Athletic’s Europa League Roster

Qualifying for the Europa League group stage was the most important thing for Athletic Club during the first month of the season. After two difficult rounds against Dinamo Bucuresti and Panathinaikos, the Lions were able to book their place in Group J where they have been joined by Hertha Berlin, Zorya Luhansk, and Ostersunds. They will kick off the first game on Thursday in German against Hertha which promises to be a very intense match. As is always the case for a new round of the tournament, the club was required to submit its Europa League roster which featured several new additions now that the team has six games ahead of them.

Jon Sillero

Jon Sillero was one of the players added to Athletic Club’s Europa League roster (Athletic Club)

A total of nine Bilbao Athletic players saw their names added to the roster on Tuesday: Iñigo Baqué, Oli, Gorka Guruzeta, Andoni Lopez, Hodei Oleaga, Victor San Bartolomé, Jon Sillero, Iñigo Vicente, and Peru Nolaskoain.

For the most part, all of the names that were added are players who are seen as potential first team players. Andoni Lopez, Jon Sillero, Gorka Guruzeta, Iñigo Vicente, and Peru Nolaskoain are all well-known youth players who are on the cusp of getting their debuts. Meanwhile, Baqué, San Bartolomé, and Oli have all been playing at a high level when called upon. Oleaga, the lone goalkeeper, has already spent several training sessions with the first team this season and has played well for Bilbao Athletic when filling in for Unai Simón.

Only time will tell if any of these players will actually get the chance to make their debuts this season. The group stage will be very difficult for Athletic and most likely the only way they will get chances is if the Lions secure their passage to the next round with games still remaining. Of course, with nine new players added to the roster they had to be assigned shirt numbers which are listed below:

31 Iñigo Baqué

32 Andoni Fernandez (Oli)

33 Gorka Guruzeta

34 Andoni Lopez

35 Hodei Oleaga

36 Victor San Bartolomé

37 Jon Sillero

38 Iñigo Vicente

39 Peru Nolaskoain

Leave A Comment